Connect with us:

  • Historical Architectural Review Board (HARB)  is a seven member Board, consisting of six residents and one Building & Codes Official, and meets on the first Wednesday of each month. 
  • The HARB safeguards the heritage of the Township by preserving and regulating the Kemblesville Historic District to reflect elements of its cultural, social, economic, political, and architectural history.
  • If you are an owner of property in the Historic District and are planning on doing any work to your property, please see the attached Guidelines and Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) Application. If you have any questions about whether or not your project requires a COA, please call Jeff Vogels, the Township Building and Code Official.  Jeff is in the Township Office on Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 10 a.m. until noon. (610) 255-5212.
  • Historical Architectural Review Board (HARB) meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month, as needed. Meetings begin at the conclusion of the Historical Commission Meeting which begins at 7 PM. The public is welcome to attend.​

About the HARB

About the Historical Commission


If you are considering doing exterior work on your property, the Historical Architectural Review Board (HARB) would like to remind you that a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) may need to be obtained before a Building Permit can be issued. The COA process involves an application to the HARB, a vote of recommendation from the HARB, and a subsequent vote of approval from the Board of Supervisors. The members of the HARB would like this process to be as easy and straightforward as possible, and urge residents to talk with Jeff Vogels, the Township Code Enforcement Officer, very early in your planning—even before you have spoken to a contractor—to understand what is involved.

Liz Randby                   12.31.2020
Sara Beth Kohut          12.31.2020
Paul Lagasse                12.31.2021
Nan Latimer                 12.31.2022
Lou Mandich                12.31.2021
Joe Neuman                 12.31.2022

About the Planning Commission

  • Membership on the Planning Commission is voluntary
  • Candidates are appointed to the five member Planning Commission by the Board of Supervisors for a renewable term of four years
  • Planning Commission members are responsible for the review of all subdivision and land development applications, as well as the review of  proposed ordinances and revisions to the Comprehensive Plan
  • Planning Commission recommendations are advisory and are forwarded to the Board of Supervisors
  • The Planning Commission meets on the first Thursday of each month
  • These meetings begin at 7 pm at the Franklin Township Building
  • Please check the Website for cancellations and meeting minutes 

Planning Commission Members

Historical Commission Members

Five Year Terms

Reminder for Homeowners in the Historic District

Historical Architectural Review Board (HARB)

  • The Historical Commission (HC) represents a seven member commission which meets monthly (first Tuesday of each month).  By resolution, the Board of Supervisors established the Historical Commission in 2002. The Board’s resolution identified a broad range of duties, including survey and research, review of demolition permits affecting historic resources, and maintaining official historic resource maps and archives.
  • Historical Commission meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month. Meetings are held at 7 PM in the Township Building. The public is welcome to attend.
  • ​The Historical Commission Email Address is:​

  • Franklin Township Ordinance 2002-15
  • ​​Visit the Franklin Township Historical Commission Facebook page

Franklin Township - Township Committees

Other Township Committees and Boards

David Hoffman, Chairman
Mark Harris, Vice Chairman
John Gontarz, Secretary
Chuck Phillips
Brent Van Lith


  • David Gerstenhaber
  • Zach Elwyn
  • ​Paul Lagasse

Paul Lagasse, Chairman

Nan Latimer, Realtor,

Lou Mandich, Member
Chuck Phillips, Registered Architect     Liz Randby, Member
Tracey Schreiner, Secretary

 Jeff Vogels, Township Building & Codes Official